DIY {Ribbon Chandelier}

I was lucky enough to help out with the decorations for a 2 year old birthday party over the weekend.  One of the things I did was to make her a ribbon chandelier using scrap pieces of ribbon, fabric, and trim I had lying around.  This is a great craft for using up all those scrap pieces.  It takes just 20min to put together and it could be used for all sorts of parties or as a centerpiece for a room.

I picked out the fabric I wanted to use for my project.  It’s a hodge podge of vintage fabric, sheets, fabric from a dress, pom pom yarn, and ribbon I had on hand. I used a quilters hoop for the base.  The other half of the hoop broke and I literally had this half in my hand to take to the curb but thought better of it.  I cut my fabric into strips in various lengths with the widths ranging in 1 to 1 1/2 inches wide.  Then I used a hot glue gun to glue the strips around the hoop.

It was sooo simple. My original plan was to use it as a chandellier over one of the tables but it didn’t work out that way.  Instead I hung it from one of the trees as a windsock of sorts.  It looked so pretty blowing in the breeze.  I’m thinking about possibly hanging it from the current light fixture in the guest bedroom.

11 thoughts on “DIY {Ribbon Chandelier}

Leave a comment