Fabric Garland

The great thing about this fabric garland is that it is so versatile and can be used for any party. But it’s so gorgeous why not have it out all the time? It was a cinch to make and it took me about an hour to create the whole thing from start to finish.

Let’s get started!

Get some awesome fabric of your choice. I also used pom pom trim, which you may remember from my ribbon chandelier as well as some lace fabric from a dress that didn’t fit.  This is a great project to use any left over scrap fabric you might have laying around too.

Figure out how long you want your garland to hang, double that number and add 2 inches for the fold.  I wanted mine to hang 8″ so I pre-cut my fabric to 18″ long.  Cut a starter slit in your fabric to your desired width. I cut every 2 inches.

Now, use some pent up energy to rip the fabric.  Cotton fabric works best for this. Your fabric will fray, if that’s not the look you are going for then use a rotary cutter or cut your fabric by hand and use fray check on the edges.

Lay your pieces out in the order you want your garland

Use twin for the base of the garland

Tie your fabric strips to the garland

Enjoy!

Let me know if you make any garland, I’d love to see what you’ve created!  How awesome will it look in the Christmas tree this year?

Sarah

5 thoughts on “Fabric Garland

Leave a Reply

