Call To Artist:: Kendall | Hart’s Desire Photography

My next Call to Artist spotlights Kendall Thomas. 

Thomas-Call to artists-3

A recent graduate of Skyline High School she discovered painting during an independent study period.

 

Thomas-Call to artists-1

I met Kendall on her family’s farm and watched her throw paint before heading to the river.

Thomas-Call to artists-2

Thomas-Call to artists-4

Thomas-Call to artists-5

Thomas-Call to artists-6 

Thomas-Call to artists-7

Thomas-Call to artists-8

Thomas-Call to artists-9 Thomas-Call to artists-10

 

Q. Tell us a little about yourself

A. “I am born and raised in Warren County grew up on the country side and graduated from skyline high school and found the passion of cooking and baking  but also found an old hobby I have found a couple years ago.”

Thomas-Call to artists-11

Thomas-Call to artists-12

Thomas-Call to artists-13

Thomas-Call to artists-14

Thomas-Call to artists-15 Thomas-Call to artists-17

Thomas-Call to artists-16

 

Q. Up until this past year, have you had any interest in art, and more specifically have you had an interest in painting?

A. “As I went through elementary, middle and high school I found the passion of art relaxes me so I fell back onto sketches and painting.  My senior year of high school I needed to fill up my classes so I took an art/wood independent study. I never knew my ability of art would ever come to this.  I found the fun of throwing paint and making designs or pictures the thing I love to do the most.  Just the outcome of the craziness of throwing a bunch of colors and turning into a picture or artwork amuses me.” 

Thomas-Call to artists-18

Thomas-Call to artists-19

Thomas-Call to artists-20

Thomas-Call to artists-21 Thomas-Call to artists-22

Thomas-Call to artists-23

Thomas-Call to artists-25 Thomas-Call to artists-26

Thomas-Call to artists-27

Thomas-Call to artists-28 Thomas-Call to artists-29

Thomas-Call to artists-30

Thomas-Call to artists-31

Q. What inspires you?

A.  “Growing up around the beautiful scenes of Warren County  with the mountains and waters; the outdoors inspire me.   Although being around the mountains all the time makes me love the ocean front views even more.  Being around water, that’s my happy place so I find myself painting more oceanic pictures. I love the bold and bight colors that just pop so mixing my own colors and looking at the fact when its all done I really just stand back and look and I’ll catch a smile on my face and think wow look what it came out to be.   Corny but the truth.” 

 

Thomas-Call to artists-32

Thomas-Call to artists-33 Thomas-Call to artists-34

Thomas-Call to artists-35.

Thomas-Call to artists-36 Thomas-Call to artists-37

Thomas-Call to artists-38

Thomas-Call to artists-39

Thomas-Call to artists-40 

Thomas-Call to artists-41 Thomas-Call to artists-42

Thomas-Call to artists-43

Thomas-Call to artists-44 Thomas-Call to artists-45

Thomas-Call to artists-46

Q. Tell us about your creative process-How do you go about working on a piece?

A.  “Starting a project is a bit challenging to me with all the creative thoughts rolling through my mind.  I usually just get some colors together and see how it turns out and go from there to do a floral  theme or a nature theme.” 

Thomas-Call to artists-47

Thomas-Call to artists-48

Thomas-Call to artists-49

Thomas-Call to artists-50

Thomas-Call to artists-51 Thomas-Call to artists-52

Thomas-Call to artists-53

Thomas-Call to artists-54

Q. Since this medium is new to you, do you plan on developing your talent further?  As in, will you continue to paint?

A.  “I do think I’ll still paint as a hobby just every now and then its always nice to make something new and look back a few years and see how you’ve improved.” 

Thomas-Call to artists-55

Thomas-Call to artists-56

Thomas-Call to artists-57

Thank you Kendall for sharing a few hours of your time and talent!

If you or someone you know would like to be featured in my Call to Artists Project please email me so we can chat!

hartsdesire@hotmail.com

 

And be sure to leave Kendall some love!  

One thought on “Call To Artist:: Kendall | Hart’s Desire Photography

  1. Harper College’s Phi Theta Kappa organization invites artists, arts administrators and organizers, curators, scholars, museum professionals, educators, and other members of the visual and literary arts community to submit works of ANY FORM AND SCALE that address the theme of “Competition in the Arts”. Submissions can be documentation of realized projects, and/or proposals for unrealized, or unrealizable projects. This may take the form of a proposed arts exhibition on behalf of a curator, an arts program developed by an arts educator, a panel discussion developed by an art historian, or a special event to be presented at a museum. We will compile these proposals as a scholarly digital catalog. This catalog will be released on a dedicated website in Spring 2014. Our aim is to compile a variable perspective of the theme from those that contribute to our culture’s notion of art and its operations.
    Submit proposals and questions to ptk@harpercollege.edu

Leave a Reply

