A new series…

Last June I took a week off work to get a few projects done around the house. One of those projects was to repaint our master bedroom.  I was hesitant to share it because it was more of a makeunder.

BEFORE:

IMG_4226

The bedroom started with this blue. I believe it is Raindrop by Sherwin Williams.  A few years ago I got the bright idea to also paint the ceiling blue. I glazed it so it was wispy like the sky.

IMG_4229

 

But the carpet is also blue. More of a blue-gray.  Then 2 years ago I bought this awesome blue tufted sofa at a yard sale.

IMG_4233

But after a while it just looked like a sea of different shades of blue.  Bor-ing!

IMG_4227

IMG_4230

Don’t worry, that’s not dirty laundry, it’s the “to be donated’” pile; and it’s gone nowSmile

IMG_4231

 

What really sparked the entire paint job? This hideous white fan.

IMG_4237

one of the metal arms snapped during use. I can’t be without a fan so I went to Lowes to get a new one.

During my trip the wheels started turning and after having a conversation with myself I knew if I was going to take the fan down I really should repaint the ceiling while I’m at it. But. If I was going to paint the ceiling I’d have to paint the walls too…

IMG_4228

IMG_4232

IMG_4234

IMG_4235

I took every gallon and quart of every beige-y paint I had left over and mixed it all in a 5 galloon bucket for a custom color. I had just enough to do the walls after painting the ceiling with a gallon of ceiling paint.

Here is a hint at the finished paint job

IMG_5664

 

And the fan that started it all.

IMG_5668

IMG_5669

I thought it would be fun to start a new series called, Evolution of a Bedroom

Evolution of a Bedroom

I don’t know how long this series will last and the postings might be a little erratic without a scheduled timeline but that’s how I like it. The bedroom will evolve very organically and I’ll take you every step of the way.  I already have some ideas for a new headboard and a change to the seating arrangement at the foot of the bed. 

Will you come along for the ride?

Leave a Reply

