Welcome 2012!!!!

Good morning!  It’s been a while, huh?  It was a welcome break. Unfortunately, I can’t say I relaxed the whole time I’ve been gone. Nope, I was busy trying to get the house and toys back in order from Christmas! Oh my! What a difference a year makes!  Little man did NOT get this many toys last year! Our family is truly blessed.

I thought I would give a brief recount of the last year and some new goals I’ve set for myself for the coming year.  Also, you will notice that I don’t have any pictures that really go with this post so how about some of my favorites from the past year? 

IMG_0846

I’ve never been one to make New Year’s resolutions. I don’t think anyone really sticks to them so why bother? I do believe in goals though. It can be small or large.  Or small goals that help lead up to that large goal.

This time last year I had a voice in the back of my head that kept telling me I needed to start a blog. But I ignored it for half of the year. I finally gave in, trusting my gut, and I published my first blog post on May 5, 2011; which also happens to be my birthday. And last year it was the big 3-0.  I’m so glad I listened to that voice.  As hard and time consuming as having a blog is, it’s also brought me great joy.  To be able to have an outlet to share all my creative ideas and projects with people I never would’ve otherwise been able to do on my own has been an awesome experience.

IMG_1169

A few of the other goals I had for 2011 that I accomplished were:

  • Run a 5K {I’m happy to say I did not one but 2. I’m also happy to say that they will more than likely be my last. I’ve decided that running is just not my thing. I don’t enjoy it so I will get my exercise in the other forms that I do enjoy like yoga and walking}
  • More time spent with little man {this is something I’m stilling working on. I often live with mom guilt. It doesn’t matter how much time I DO spend with him, I usually feel like it’s not enough. It’s hard to balance everything, and I know I’m not alone in this. But he is a thriving 2 1/2-almost 3 year old. We must be doing something right!}
  • Garden more {I nearly doubled the size of my garden this year and I’m always thinking of new ways to maximize the space I do have}
  • Take lots of pictures {check and double check. I was even helped a friend of mine shoot her niece’s wedding this year. You can check those photos out here}
  • Simplify {this is a constant struggle}
  • Play on the river more {We are lucky enough to live in the Shenandoah Valley and have a river that we enjoy. I am the new owner of a kayak that I can’t wait to get out on the water this year. We also bought a river lot which is were we spent most of our weekends this past summer}

IMG_1330-2

In addition to all those things I was able to accomplish, I also was lucky enough to be featured on some of my favorite blogs.  Here are just a handful of them:

www.designsponge.com

www.apartmenttherapy.com

karapaslaydesigns.blogspot.com

www.oneprettything.com

www.remodelaholic.com

diyshowoff.com

I hope this doesn’t come off as me bragging, it’s not my intention, It’s just me giving myself a pat on the back, which we ALL need now and then. This is a SMALL blog. I’ve only been doing this for 7 months. I had no idea I would even be writing a blog this time last year. But I think it’s important that we all take the time to take stock. Look at what your goals are for the year, see what areas we can improve or change. If you don’t like something about yourself, your job, your living situation, your financial situation, or your life it’s up to YOU to make the change. Opportunities don’t fall from the sky {at least they never have for me}.  If you want something for you, your family, or your life it’s up to you to go after it.

Ok, getting off the soap box…

IMG_1371-2

A big THANK YOU to the top refers of my blog over this past year:

facebook.com

oneprettything.com

perfectlyimperfectblog.com

designsponge.com

remodelaholic.com

    IMG_1388-1

So, you’ve listened to me brag and jump up and down on my soap box. Are you still with me? Want to hear about my goals for 2012? No? Well here they are anyway, if nothing else they are me putting them out there for anyone to read and are a way for me to “own” them.  I’m working on all of these. Now, some are little goals, projects I’d like to work on and others are more “life changing”, well, maybe not life changing. More changes in my day to day way of life:

  • More balance {and really, doesn’t everyone make this a goal? I can be a “workaholic” of sorts. I love DIY, furniture painting, crafting, picture taking, furniture rearranging, basically anything you’ve seen me do so far. But I also love more. And sometimes I don’t know when to stop. Everyone needs to have that “down time”. I need to find that balance and be able to enjoy everything I love to do along with the much needed family time and day to day life routines.

 

  • Get healthy {again, this is on everyone’s list right? This past year is the laziest I’ve been in about 10 years. It’s time to get back in shape. Time to dust off the yoga DVD and treadmill! I will get back to that routine this year.  Got that? Write. It. Down.

 

  • work on the camper {you may have noticed the new addition in the background of some of my pictures, the latest being our Christmas Tree post.  We bought a 1969 Air Stream in need of updating. We practically stole it we got such a good deal on it. It’s been sitting in our driveway since the summer just waiting for us to be inspired. Well the time has come. I’ll be sure to fill you in as we go. I’ll do the proper introductions in a few weeks.

 

  • Set up a booth at the Wine & Craft Festival {Attention locals! My dad and I will be setting up at the Wine & Craft Festival in May, selling riddling racks. I’ll also have a variety of other items for sale like furniture, jewelry, and home decor items.}

 

  • Make a new headboard

 

  • Find a local retailer to sell furniture and home decor items {I’m currently looking for a place to sell my painted furniture and home decor items.  Ideally, I’d like to sell on consignment first and then build up to rent my own space in a shop.}

 

  • Paint the den and set up a wall for photo shoots {I’ll still be listing the furniture in my Etsy Shop and doing the before & after posts on the blog and I need a space to set up those shots.}

 

  • Have a wreath decorating party {why? Because it just sounds fun! A bunch of girls crafting, gabbing, and drinking sangria. What’s not to love?}

 

  • Do more with my photography {This is already in the works. I’ve got at least 2 weddings planned this year that I’m helping out a good friend with. Super excited about this! I’m also planning to offer picture packs of a few of my images for your personal use. You can frame them for your home, use them to make your own cards, etc.} 

 

  • Organize my craft room {this is going to the top of the list because without it nothing else on this list will get done!}

IMG_5352-1 - Copy

I’m sure other goals will pop up throughout the year, but for now, this is what I have planned.

IMG_5071-1 

  Wow, this post turned out longer than I had planned! I hope you are still with me! Have you all made your 2012 goals yet? Wanna share? I’d love to hear what you all have your sights on for the upcoming year. Share in the comment section!

I’ll leave you with the rest of my favorite pictures {besides the personal ones} from last year in no particular order:

IMG_5372-2

 

 IMG_7156 - Copy

 

IMG_6515-1

 

IMG_7494-1 IMG_8110

 

IMG_9807-1

 

shot_1305068580214

Here’s to a Fabulous 2012!

Sarah

2 thoughts on “Welcome 2012!!!!

  1. Sarah, I was wondering what paint product you use to ensure that the paint sticks and that cabinets still open and close well. I have refinsihed much of my furntire which should have been fodder for the dumpster…it came out very satisfcatory…except a cabinet from when I was a child that I have passed on to my 4 year old. I spent months painting it and getting it just the way I wanted, it cured for days before I put the doors back on…and it still stuck and started to peel off in a few places. I was so disappointed. This spring I want to strip the whole thing and start over…so advice would be much appreciated.

    1. Jade, I usually finish my furniture with a coat of either brush on or wipe on poly depending on the finish I want. I sometimes use a wax finish too. My first thought on your older cabinet is if you sealed it with a poly coat? Since it’s an older piece of furniture it could have an original oil-based finish on it. Did you happen to strip it before you started painting it? Latex paint will not adhere on top of an oil base finish. I’m sorry this happened to you, it stinks to work so hard on a piece just to have it start chipping afterwards. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

