The Pinterest Challenge {Fall Edition}

In case you missed it, SherryKatie, Anna, and Erin  announced last week another Pinterest Challenge. The whole point of the challenge is to actually do something with the pins we have on our boards. How many of us have “pinned” something but never end up doing anything with it? It just sits in cyber land. And that’s not cool.  That’s where the challenge comes in.

So, what did I decide to re-create?

Dundundundaaaaa!!

Originally From Here

I shared this pin a few weeks ago and it was high time I tried it for myself. Ive been needing an over sized coaster for a nightstand and this would be perfect. Not to mention all the awesome fabric I had leftover from the baby shower. Destiny I tell ya.

The loom reminded me of the old school ones I used to have as a kid with the stretchy bands of fabric. Do you remember the ones?

So, the inspiration pin used a wooden frame. I didn’t have one but I did have several quilters hoops. So I gave it a whirl. I nailed my nails around the loom spacing them about an inch apart. I just eye balled and went for it. No measuring for me. I know. I live on the wild side, right?

I tore my strips of fabric about an inch thick, and tied each together to make one long “thread”. I really wanted to sew each piece together but I think my sewing machine is broken{that’s another story for another time} but tying them worked too.

And here is my finished coaster

So, did anyone else participate in the challenge?  Doesn’t it feel good to finish a project you ‘pinned’ rather than just letting it sit in your computer forever collecting virtual dust?

I can’t wait to see what everyone else out there did for their challenge. Be sure to check out our hosts’ blogs for their challenge pieces and link up yours!

2 thoughts on “The Pinterest Challenge {Fall Edition}

  1. I love how you made it round with a quilting hoop! I would have never thought of that! I took the challenge too, it definitely feels great to have actually finished a pinned project!

Leave a Reply

