A Baby Shower

Good morning! I hope everyone had a fabulous weekend!  Is it really Tuesday already? I swear, sometimes I just don’t know where the time goes.

  Saturday I helped throw a baby shower for one of my best friends. I was in charge of the decorations so I’ve spent the last few weeks getting ready. I thought I’d share a few of the details with you all this morning. I’ve also got a few tutorials to share with you later in the week.

My friend already had a color scheme in mind for the baby’s room (She’s having a girl) pink, chocolate brown, turquoise, and gold.  She was having a little bit of a hard time pulling everything together so I thought I’d get some fabric that had all the colors in it to help tie everything together.

I mean seriously.  What’s NOT to love with this fabric set? Nothing. That’s what. I’m so in love with that paisley fabric it’s not even funny. I’m going back to Hobby Lobby to buy as many yards as I can.  I’m also loving the last fabric in this picture, the one with the “stripes”. LOOOVVVEEEE.

My hope was that if she liked something, she could use it in the room. Luckily she loved everything and I’ll be going over later to help her pull the room together; maybe she’ll let me share a few before and after photos.

Garland using said fabrics with a few scraps from my own stash. This is so fun. I was secretly wishing my friend wouldn’t want this so I could keep it for myself:)

Decorate a Onsie station. I had a mix of onsies ranging in size from 0-12months.  Everyone decorated their shirts with handmade appliques, trim, scrap fabric, and their imagination.

The finished shirts:

I made a “Wish Tree” where everyone could write a wish, hope, or dream for the baby on a piece of decorative paper, roll it up, then drop it in a clear Christmas ornament and hang it on the tree.

Instead of using wire hooks for the ornaments, I ripped small pieces of the fabrics and tied them to the loop of the ornaments.

Vintage Pepsi crates held mason jars for drinks with hand punched tags tied to twine for drink tags.

My friend loves to read so we asked that people bring their favorite book as a child to help start the baby’s book collection.

Daisies are her favorite flower so I had vases full of flowers scattered throughout the shower

I thought I’d share the gifts I gave to the baby as well.  I love to give and receive  handmade gifts. Nothing means more to me than to know that someone took time to create something just for me. I think everyone deserves a handmade gift, especially a new little life.

You’ll have to excuse this poor picture; I had about 2 minutes to take the picture so I couldn’t get it styled quiet right to capture it’s cuteness.  The baby crochet pattern was really easy to do. It came from Lion Brand.  I also added 2 flowers to the corner from yarn from my stash.

I’ve been making these little shoes for every baby that I know for a little over a year now but I think these maybe my favorite. Maybe it’s because we’ve been having a string of boys lately so it was a welcome change to create for a little girl!

I used SweetPea Patterns on Etsy and added the flower on the top.  My “handmade by Sarah” tags came from greenbeansnstrings also on Etsy.

Be sure to check back later in the week where I’ll be sharing a few tutorials for a few of the decorations I made for the shower.

Have a fabulous day!

Sarah

4 thoughts on “A Baby Shower

Leave a Reply

