Outdoor Fall Decor

I’m all about a creative post title this morning, huh??

Anywho, The weather finally cooperated so I could get a few pictures of our outdoor fall decor.  I did two little displays this year.

This one is by our garage door to great us when we come home:

I mixed and matched real pumpkins with a few fake I had from my stash this year in the old basket.

See that great stool?  I picked it up for a $1 at a yard sale a few weeks ago.  My original thought was to give it a new life as little man’s bar stool on the kitchen island but I’m starting to think it’s made to stay in this state; it looks so happy outside.  What do you think?

We picked up a few pumpkins last weekend at a pumpkin patch we visited. I haven’t even gotten those pictures uploaded on the computer yet.  I’m still going through wedding pictures to get caught up.  Once I get them edited, I’ll share a few, unless it’s December and then it would just be silly.  Anyway, back to the pumpkins…we picked up a few green, orange, and white pumpkins along with a cool Cinderella type pumpkin that was a mix of all the colors.

I wanted to make sure I was getting a variety of types of pumpkins.  I’m going to harvest the seeds so next year we can plant our own pumpkin patch at our property by the river.  If you’ve been reading my blog for a while you know I’ve been itching to have a pumpkin decorating party.  How fun will it be to have all our friends and family together to pick out their own pumpkin from our patch and then sit around decorating them?  A big cookout to follow and a fire going when it starts getting dark?  LOVE IT.

The Second one is in the front of the house:

I made the front door wreath last year.  Dollar Tree flowers and berry picks, yellow feathers from my dad, and some straw.  I had hopes of making a new wreath for this year but I just never found the time.  Plus, this wreath has held up so why not use it? This is only the 2nd wreath I’ve made in 8 years.  The wreath before it I’d used for 7 years before it bit the dust.  I usually like more traditional wreaths simply because they are classic and can be used over and over.  But, I’m loving some of the fun wreaths I’ve been seeing around the internet this year.  Maybe I’ll get my act together and make one for Christmas…

The urns looked like this a few weeks ago.  I sprayed them black for a more traditional look.

I used old grapevine wreaths on top of the urns, then wrapped the wreaths in berry garland.  I looked for pumpkins with a wide base and sat them right on top.

The front porch is a little weird; the door isn’t centered so there is this awkward corner.  This year I put a big planter in the corner and have had seasonal plants.  The purple grass was planted this spring but I added the fall pansies.

We picked up a few pumpkins last weekend at a pumpkin patch we visited. I haven’t even gotten those pictures uploaded on the computer yet.  I’m still going through wedding pictures to get caught up.  Once I get them edited, I’ll share a few, unless it’s December and then it would just be silly.  Anyway, back to the pumpkins…we picked up a few green, orange, and white pumpkins along with a cool Cinderella type pumpkin that was a mix of all the colors.

I wanted to make sure I was getting a variety of types of pumpkins.  I’m going to harvest the seeds so next year we can plant our own pumpkin patch at our property by the river.  If you’ve been reading my blog for a while you know I’ve been itching to have a pumpkin decorating party.  How fun will it be to have all our friends and family together to pick out their own pumpkin from our patch and then sit around decorating them?  A big cookout to follow and a fire going when it starts getting dark?  LOVE IT.

So, that’s it.  Has anyone else been doing some fall decorating outside?  Tell me about it, link up in the comment section, I’d love to see!

I hope everyone has a fabulous day!

Sarah

Leave a Reply

