Retail Therapy

I was out of town for work earlier this week which meant I got to go shopping! I don’t have great home decor stores close by home so I took the opportunity to get inspired for fall. I love this time of year, I really do, but I also have a hard time of letting go of the summer. As much as I love this time of year, it is only a reminder that winter is also coming and that’s the part of fall I do. not. like. But there isn’t anything I can do about that so I might as well just embrace it and go with it!

I snapped a few display ideas I saw while I was out that gave me some inspiration and I wanted to share them with you. They would all be so easy to do and you might already have the supplies on hand.

20110915-061704.jpg

This was a tablescape at Pottery Barn. It could be so easy to recreate at home. You can find large hurricane globes at thrift stores for just a few dollars each. The leaf garland and even a large candle could be found at a Dollar store or Big Lots if you have them in your area. The ceramic pumpkins would also be easy to find on a tighter budget. Use your own dishes and add festive napkins in a complimentary color scheme. If you can’t find cloth napkins for a reasonable price, look into making your own. I’ve seen lots of tutorials for making your own floating around the Internet. One last thrift idea to recreate this look. Go to a fabric store and get a piece of fall fabric cut to your specific size rather than buying a table cloth. This will save $ especially if you bring a coupon with you. Jo Ann’s normally has their flyers by the front door and there is normally a 40% off coupon in it.

Here is a close up of the hurricane.

20110915-062830.jpg

I also wanted to show you all this display they had set up

20110915-063005.jpg

The bags of moss filler were selling for $10 a bag! I’ve gotten almost the exact same type of moss at Dollar Tree. Most craft stores will also sell different types of moss for less {don’t forget that coupon too}. They were also selling square glass vases. I didn’t look at the price but I bought square vases from Dollar Tree and I think the quality is better.

One other idea I snapped that night was from my favorite furniture store, Arhaus Furniture. They have amazing Visual people that style and decorate their stores. Most of the time, their ideas are simple but can be stunning. This particular store is using brown rice in all their vases throughout the space to help bring in fall. They used simple sticks, curly willow, moss, and other natural elements to help tie in the decorations to their natural, rustic style furniture,

20110915-063751.jpg

Rice would be a great filler, but don’t stop there! Why not cruise through the grocery store for inspiration? Try beans, they come in a variety of colors and textures, legumes, wild rice, and even coffee beans can be great fillers. And they are CHEAP!

I hope I’ve inspired you today! I know I was, I got busy last night starting my fall decorating. I’ll show you what I’ve done with my pumpkins and a few other things when it’s done.

Have a great day!

Sarah

One thought on “Retail Therapy

Leave a Reply

